President Dukes Named Woman of the Year by AAWCC

  • img/@alt

Article by: Jennifer L. Colter


The American Association of Women in Community Colleges Announce Of the Year Award Honorees 

Dr. Charlene M. Dukes Receives National Honor 


Gaithersburg, MD  – The American Association of Women in Community Colleges (AAWCC) has announced its annual Of the Year Awards naming Julie Huckestein, Dr. Charlene Dukes, and Sally Shaheen Joseph, Esq., CEO of the Year, Woman of the Year, and Trustee of the Year, respectively.    

Huckestein, president of Chemeketa Community College, Salem OR, was named the Carolyn Desjardins CEO of the Year for her outstanding service and support to AAWCC. As a former board member of AAWCC, Huckestein has been active at the local and national level for more than 20 years, most recently serving as the national vice president of finances. In that role, Huckestein demonstrated “a love and passion for the goals of AAWCC through the years,” said Dr. Beverly Walker-Griffea, president, AAWCC. “During her tenure as vice president for finance, Julie helped to sustain AAWCC and make it more viable to support women leaders working in community colleges. We honor her for that service,” said Walker-Griffea.   

Dukes, president, Prince George’s Community College, Largo, MD, was named the Mildred Bulpitt Woman of the Year in recognition of her outstanding leadership and mentorship to women in community colleges. The award is named in honor of AAWCC founder Mildred Bulpitt as a symbol of her tenacious, innovative, and selfless spirit in helping women attain leadership positions in community colleges.  “Dukes embodies that same spirit through her support of the advancement of women through her role as president of Prince George’s Community College and as part of her work to expand the impact of the American Association of Community Colleges (AACC),” said Walker-Griffea. Dukes is the immediate past chair of the AACC Board of Directors.  

Joseph, secretary of the Board of Trustees at Mott Community College (MCC), Flint MI, was named Trustee of the Year. A trustee for nine years, Joseph was instrumental in MCC being selected as one of the top ten community colleges in the nation by the Aspen Institute in 2011 and as one of 150 colleges nationally to be eligible for the fourth $1 million Aspen Prize for Community College Excellence in 2016. A Mott Community College graduate who went on to obtain a law degree, Joseph is a strong advocate for community college education. “Sally cares deeply about women and the success of women, so that we can continue to press forward. I appreciate the wonderful perspective that she has brought to Mott and to Genesee County and I am honored to present her with the Trustee of the Year award,” said Walker-Griffea.   

Founded in 1973, AAWCC is a national organization dedicated to changing women’s lives through education, service and leadership development. AAWCC has 60 chapters in 10 regions across the nation, 67 institutional members and 1612 individual members.   




*Information provided courtesy of the American Association in Community Colleges, Avis McMillon 


Related News Stories