PGCC president, Dr. Charlene M. Dukes, to lead AACC board

  • img/@alt

Article by: Jennifer L. Colter

Charlene Dukes, president of Prince George’s Community College (PGCC) in Maryland, will become chair of the American Association of Community Colleges (AACC) board of directors on July 1, succeeding Ken Atwater, president of Hillsborough Community College (Florida).

Daniel Phelan, president of Jackson College (Michigan), will serve as chair-elect of the board of directors.

Dukes is the eighth and first female president of PGCC. Nationally, she serves on the boards of directors of the American Association of Colleges and Universities, the Community College Advisory Panel of the College Board, the Institute for Higher Education Policy, the President’s Round Table and the National Council on Black American Affairs. She also has served on the Maryland State Board of Education since 2007, including as president from 2012 through May of this year.

Locally, Dukes is a member of the board of directors of the Prince George’s County Chamber of Commerce, the Business Round Table and Doctors’ Community Hospital.

In 2011 and 2013, Dukes was recognized by Washingtonian magazine as one of the 100 most powerful women in the Washington metropolitan area. She is a lifetime member of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. and the “Go On Girl!” National Book Club. 

Phelan is serving a second elected term on the AACC board of directors. He has served as president of Jackson College since 2001. He also was chair of the AACC Commission on Communications and Marketing and served on the blue ribbon 21st-Century Commission on the Future of Community Colleges as part of its Implementation Steering Committee. In addition, Phelan co-chaired a 21st-Century Implementation Team charged with redefining the community college role and mission.

New college representatives to the AACC board, who were elected in April, include:

•Gregory Hamann, president of Linn-Benton Community College (Oregon)
•Natalie Harder, chancellor of South Louisiana Community College
•Alicia Harvey-Smith, president of River Valley Community College (New Hampshire)
•Brenda Hellyer, chancellor of San Jacinto College District (Texas)
•Doreen Larson, president of Edison Community College (Ohio)
•Jerry Weber, president of College of Lake County (Illinois)

The board's new council representatives are Bryan Albrecht, president of Gateway Technical College (Wisconsin), and Sandra Kurtinitis, president of the Community College of Baltimore County. Steve Head, chancellor of the Lone Star College System (Texas), is the new institutional at-large representative, and Leah Bornstein, president of Aims Community College (Colorado), is the public at-large representative.

Article courtesy of Community College Daily, Staff

Related News Stories