PGCC Announces Task Force to Study Promise Scholarship Program

Article by: Artelia C. Gillam


Contact: Artelia C. Gillam

Office: 301.546.0916

Office email:


PGCC Announces Task Force to Study Promise Scholarship Program

LARGO, Md. — Prince George’s Community College (PGCC) has announced the full list of participants on the Task Force to Study a Promise Scholarship Program in Prince George’s County, as well as the group’s next public meeting.

The Task Force will meet on Wednesday, September 21, from 4:00 to 6:00 p.m., in Kent Hall, Room 262 on the college’s Largo campus.  Greg Murphy, vice president for Institutional Advancement, and Donovan McCargo, dean of students, from the Community College of Philadelphia will be the guest presenters.   Allen Richman, interim dean of the Office of Planning, Assessment, and Institutional Research (OPAIR), will provide an overview of pertinent data.  The public is invited to attend. For more information, please call 301-546-0916.

 The Task Force, chaired by Charlene M. Dukes, president of PGCC, is comprised of key stakeholders who will seek to study the feasibility, eligibility requirements, funding sources, and student support services for the program. Each meeting will include sections for public comment and task force members may invite subject matter experts and community representatives to present information.  

The Task Force members include:

Dr. Charlene M. Dukes, president of Prince George’s Community College (chair of the task force)

Eric C. Brown, director of the Department of Housing and Community Development for Prince George’s County

James Coleman, president and CEO, the Prince George’s County Economic Development Corporation

The Honorable Derrick L. Davis, chair of the Prince George’s County Council

Theresa M. Dudley, president, Board of Directors, Prince George’s County Educators’ Association

James R. Estepp, director of operations, the Greater Prince George’s Business Roundtable

James D. Fielder, Jr., Ph.D, Secretary of Higher Education, Maryland Higher Education Commission

The Honorable David C. Harrington, president and CEO, Prince George’s Chamber of Commerce

Dr. Kevin M. Maxwell, chief executive officer, Prince George’s County Public Schools

Antonio Morrell, president, Student Governance Association, Prince George’s Community College

The Honorable James C. Rosapepe, Senator, Maryland Senate

Dr. Bernard J. Sadusky, executive director, Maryland Association of Community Colleges

Karen Johnson Shaheed, Esq., executive vice president and general counsel, Bowie State University

Nancy Shapiro, Ph.D., associate vice chancellor of academic affairs, University System of Maryland

C. Michael Walls, Esq., board of trustees, Prince George’s Community College

The Honorable Alonzo T. Washington, delegate, Maryland House of Delegates, district 22


About Prince George’s Community College:
Named a National Center of Academic Excellence in Information Assurance designated by the National Security Agency and Department of Homeland Security (2015-2020), Prince George’s Community College (PGCC) provides high quality education and training for the progressive and career-oriented residents of Prince George’s County. From new high school graduates and career seekers, to more seasoned professionals and senior citizens looking to enhance their skillsets, PGCC is comprised of students who represent a wide range of ages, backgrounds, and goals. Serving more than 40,000 individuals annually, the college is the first choice for higher education for residents of Prince George’s County. Collaborative partnerships, responsive degree and training programs, and a commitment to student success enables PGCC to address diverse education and workforce development demands. PGCC is fully accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education through 2025. For more information, visit the college website at

Related News Stories